Jul. 11th, 2013

czeri: (Default)
It's been a slow news week, but I've found a great comic verse introduction to the nine realms of Yggdrasil on Tumblr:

The nine realms are separated into three categories. The upper realms, the middle realms, and the lower realms.

Upper realms

Asgard, home of the Aesir. This is the home of the norse gods, an advanced race of warriors who’ve taken it upon themselves to protect the peace amongst the nine realms. They travel the realms with the help of Bifrost, the rainbow bridge. Odin is the king of Asgard.

In the comics, Asgard is closely related to Vallhalla, where valiant warriors who died in battle have their home.

Vanaheim, home of the Vanir. The Vanir are related to the Aesir, but deals more in magic than their cousins, and there’s been several conflicts between the two worlds. Still, some Vanir has decided to move to Asgard, Frigga, who tutored Odin in the secrets of magic, her brother Frey and their father Njord.

Alfheim, home of the Light Elves. These guys seem pretty doctile and haven’t had all that much screentime in comics. They’re elves, of the classic pointy eared kind. Still, there is one interesting tidbit. The climate in alfheim has been shown to be of the extreme variety, ranging from the greenest spring to cold and snowy winter. Also, either the elves change color from pinkish to light blue in sync with the climate, or there are two varieties.

The middle realms

Nidavellir, the dwarven lands. Dwarves live here. It’s the industrial realm, where things like magic hammers are made. Dwarves are not exactly a friendly people, but if you need something made, and have an insane amount of gold to match their price, they’re your best choice.

Midgard, the realm of humans. Yes… it’s earth. And what’s worse, we’re apparently in the bloody middle of all these dysfunctional worlds, so a warring horde will usually have to go through us to wherever they’re going.

Jotunheim, Land of giants. They’re big, live between rocks and hard places, and have anger management issues. In Thor, we got introduced to the frost giants little piece of heaven, but there’s also a place for rock giants and storm giants in this realm. Loki is, despite his lack of height, a member of the frost giant-variety.

Svartalfheim, home of dark elves. These guys do not play well with others. They live in castles, forest cities and underground caverns, are blueskinned, and dream of conquest. They live longer than humans, and are physically better than us at just about anything, though still weaker than Aesir. In addition, they are very proficient with magic. Their one big weakness is iron. The otherwise basic metal can disrupt their spells and tear through even their hardest armor. Svartalfheim is the lowest of the middle realms, and is occationally considered amongst the lower realms.

The lower realms

Hel/Niffelheim. While separate, these two realms count as one, due to their strong connection and close proximity to each other. Hel is ruled by Hela, goddess of the dead, and is where the common folk who didn’t die honorably in battle eventually ends up. It’s not a nice place to be, but if you’re not a warrior type, it’s still better than the alternative. Niffelheim is the alternative. A cold frozen wasteland for the dishonored dead.

Muspelheim, land of Surtur. Surtur is the king of the fire giants, and Muspelheim is his realm. It’s a giant firepit where only he and his fire giants and demons reside. He hates Odin with a passion, and would love nothing more than to spread his fires to Asgard.

That's pretty nifty. I wonder how the game canon fits into the cinematic one, since in the game Odin has killed all the Vanir by unleashing a soul-eating beast upon them.


czeri: (Default)

January 2017

15 161718192021

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 23rd, 2017 07:27 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios